“THE INDIGAY AND DIYANDI EXPERIENCE 2016”

      Indigay is one of the most awaited events in the whole Michaelite calendar. In our binocular it simply means “Competition” Michaelites would spend their time, money and effort to prepare for this event that usually lasts in 5 days. for us Senior High school students, the thrill of waiting for Indigay is priceless since it is our first time to be part of the activities and the event. Students got to showcase their talents and skills and it was a glorious moment to be able to compete yet develop the sense of camaraderie in everyone. On the first day, we started the opening traditions like the lighting of torch, the prayers, and the presentations. after that we had our cheer dance competition which I participated. The funny thing is I was also part of the hosting team so it was really cramming on my part. Although it was obviously tiring, I had a lot of fun and had learned a lot of lesson. On the afternoon, the games took place. How I wish I saw it but I spent the whole afternoon writing as training for the essay competition. I wrote on the ground since my coach got nowhere else to place me, it was like a hundred degrees, #HOT. I proceeded to the canteen and it was super LOUD! the booming sounds of the X-BOX KINECT add the ultra-loud sound of the speakers from the gymnasium with the murmuring and the shouting of people from everywhere yet I don’t really have much of a choice but to write and finish 3 essays in 3 hours, THANK GOD I MANAGED! what a fun afternoon for me YAAAAAY! *INSERT THE TONE OF MY SARCASTIC VOICE* so I got home tired.

On the 2nd day be basicallly just had the games. The highlight of my day was watching the chainstorytelling & battle of the brains at the AVR, I was amazed with the wits the contestants have. And the rest of the afternoon, I spent in the canteen writing.

The third day was still filled with a lot of activities. It was a Sunday, we had a mass at the Gymnasium. After the mass the games started and I proceeded to the Assumption building for the essay contest, the funny thing is I don’t know where should it be held so I ran a little late when I got into the event. Thank God I got there on time. As the contest started the unusual mechanics were read, and I wasn’t paying attention. I had clearly a lot of mistakes, as I passed the paper I felt good. In the afternoon, I hosted the extemporaneous speech and take note I was “alone” it was scary, I pulled every string to keep my composure ans voila I finished the program. It was  impressive to witness how they could make such ideas in a very short period of time. The highlight of that day was the Michaelite Ambassadors talent competition. We cheered for our representative and for our friends that joined. It was fun and exciting.

On September 26, the forth day. Was still the long series of games, what made me remember that day was the first set of awarding for the Literary and Auxiliary events. When the essay for english category was announced, I was thrilled and ecxited. In fact, I was not even scared. Fortunately the Senior High School was awarded as the 1st runner-up. Although I did not won, the sense of fulfillment was there. Despite of the fact that, it was my first time to join, I didn’t took it seriously and competing with students older and exprienced than me, I actually somehow stood up. With the help of maam Glenjie, my coach I actually got a gist of what should I do in that competition. Yay 🙏🏻  another highlight of that day was the Michaelite Ambassador, it was a battle of face, talent and beauty. The winners were from the merging collleges of Arts & Sciences and College of education for the female category. For the male category, the College of Hotel and Restaurant Management got the title. For me everybody was a winner! Kudos to everyone who took part of the competition including the staff.

After the fifth day, we had 3 days break for the celebration of our City Fiesta. The Diyandi Festival or the Feast of Saint Michael the Archangel. It usually is a month long celebration. It comes with many activities including fun runs, contests and “PARTIES 🙌🏼”  Diyandi is basically a rite performed by “DUMAGATS” ,  “MARANAOS” and “HIGA-ONONS” to pay homage to St. Michaels. The Dance aptly depicts the rich and multicultural background of Iligan City.

We had the Pagpakanaog ofthe Saint Michael Statue that made hundreds of devotees to come and witness the yearly tradition and The Sayaw, Saulog which the barangays and including the schools participated. It was fun and fullfilling after Diyandi we went back for the culmination of our Indigay which had the Mob dance competition and awarding. The defending overall champion, the College of Business Administration, for the Senior High School Department we got the 4th standing, not bad for first timers.

I talked to one of the students and I asked “HOW WAS INDIGAY?” And I laughed about her answer.

 “WAZ MI GIBUHAT SA INDIGAY NAGPBET RAMI SA MGA KIKIBLETCH SA JUSKETBOL, SAKER, FRESBEE! KASO WAZ GIHAPON PANAGAT BCOZ MGA ORI SILA HAHAHAH CHAR LANG! BITAW HINIKTAN NA AMONG MGA BET GITUGWAY NA AWTSU! OR YOYA NA SILA BES! BAT GANUN?. NANUGO RAMI PARA MA SIGN IN, USAHAY MA LETCH PAJUD, AGOY GG. TINGAERNS SI OKS T.T dmd” I would like to recommend that sunod, katong mga wiz activities, naa untay something for them para atleast ganahan sila muadto sa event-anonymous

These celebrations are important to us, OUR LIVES SHOULD NOT ONLY BE LIVED, IT SHOULD BE CELEBRATED 😍

-credits to the photo owners

Leave a Reply

